15 replies to this topic

#1 Ojo

Ojo

Gaggle

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 February 2008 - 03:20 PM

Hi folks, newbie here. I've long wanted to play a fretless bass, but I just don't have the fingers for it - my hands are small enough that some parts of the guitar aren't easy. :)

Anyway I've been looking at this, which seems to be the smallest-scale bass I can find:

Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short Scale Bass

with a 28.6" scale.

I'm trying to decide whether to buy this and try the whole ripping-out-the-frets thing, or if anybody knows of anybody that makes a short-scale fretless bass??

Any help/advice greatly appreciated!
Thanks!
Ojo

#2 Newbie Brad

Newbie Brad

Lesser Gaggle

• Hon Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,665 posts

Posted 28 February 2008 - 04:21 PM

Ashbory

These basses are obviously from another planet but I've seen one up close and they do sound good.
www.3pupsmusic.com

www.facebook.com/3pupsmusic

www.reverbnation.com/3pupsmusic

www.youtube.com/3pupsmusic

www.cafepress.com/3pupsmusic

www.archive.org/search.php?query=3pupsmusic

#3 Desecrated_Production

Desecrated_Production

Unknown Gaggle

• Hon Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts

Posted 28 February 2008 - 07:13 PM

The ashbory basses are pretty cool, I had a chance to try one out once.
I'm sure it takes some time to get used to, but the sound is really cool.
HORRORCORE

#4 Ojo

Ojo

Gaggle

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 February 2008 - 10:33 PM

Yeah I had an ashbory for a short while - no pun intended - and oddly enough I found the scale to be too small! I found the rubber strings to be too imprecise somehow - it was hard to keep my finger in exactly the same place. Weird, I know.

So I guess no one that you guys know of makes a small-scale fretless? I suppose I could try to find someone to custom-make one, but that'd probably be a good bit pricier! :)

#5 jahloon

jahloon

Administrator

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,163 posts

Posted 28 February 2008 - 10:44 PM