• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

roundwound, halfwound or flatwounds?

#1 User is offline   les fret 

• Known Gaggle
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 09 April 2012 - 10:03 AM

I am looking for a new string set on my rosewood fretless neck. I am thinking of putting 011 with a wound G on it.
I have no experience with flatwound or halfwound strings. Of course I want the longest possible sustain (who doesn't?). And also I like a brighter sound.
Do flatwounds have much less sustain than roundwounds? I am afraid roundwounds will eat my fingerboard (?).
Are halfwounds a good compromise?
Of course I know it is trial and error and everyone has their own preferences but I hope to get some tips and suggestions here so I have some ideas where to start.
gitaarles en basgitaarles in Weert
www.gitaarschoolweert.nl

#2 User is offline   Bapman 

• Lesser Gaggle
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Hon Member

Posted 14 April 2012 - 06:02 PM

View Postles fret, on 09 April 2012 - 10:03 AM, said:

I am looking for a new string set on my rosewood fretless neck. I am thinking of putting 011 with a wound G on it.
I have no experience with flatwound or halfwound strings. Of course I want the longest possible sustain (who doesn't?). And also I like a brighter sound.
Do flatwounds have much less sustain than roundwounds? I am afraid roundwounds will eat my fingerboard (?).
Are halfwounds a good compromise?
Of course I know it is trial and error and everyone has their own preferences but I hope to get some tips and suggestions here so I have some ideas where to start.

I'm using halfrounds ,
best of both worlds
bright as roundwounds
and as slide friendly as flats
swimming with a hole in my body
"The only thing worse than a guitar is a guitarist!"
- Lydia Lunch

#3 User is offline   les fret 

• Known Gaggle
  • PipPip

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:26 AM