#1 Fuzzy

Fuzzy

Gaggle

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 April 2016 - 08:11 PM

Hi!

Apologies in advance for any rambling, I start typing and my hands kind of run away from me at times, especially after a nightshift.

I'm new to fretless guitar. Really new. That is to say, I don't actually own one as yet, but have found one de-fretted that I hope to get some point in the near future. 

I have got a fretless bass though, so I have a rough idea of what it will be like. 

Without boring everyone with details about the dream multi-scale guitar I want to get built, I'm looking into fretless guitar after swapping out the G and D strings on the fretless bass with piccolo bass strings. I then run the bass through a bunch of pedals, one of which is a Boss LS-2 (A/B switch) so that I can switch between a bass amp and a guitar amp. 

I've only had this set up for about 3 months, and my intonation is sometimes good (well average), sometimes bad, but I really like some of the non-traditional sounds I can get. Only problem is I've only got 2 strings to play with at the moment for the guitar part, hence me looking more into fretless guitar. I intend to get a custom built, and am deciding if fretless is the way to go. 

So that's me.

Few quick questions

As I'm having intonation trouble, I'm wondering if fret-lines or markers would help. A friend of mine said how without lines your ear develops better but after doing my first gig with it the other day (mine has no markers), when I missed a note and the pressure was on, I found I lost my place for a good few bars. Did anyone start off with markers or just the plain fretless?